You can migrate from Confluence Cloud with draw.io installed to Confluence Server.


The draw.io data in Confluence Cloud consists of two parts:

  • attachments on the pages that contain the diagram data
  • draw.io macros in the pages that use the attachments

Note that no diagram data is stored outside of your Confluence instance, whether that be Server or Cloud.


Both the macros and attachments will port as part of a standard Cloud to Server migration.


Important: To ensure links inside diagrams work after migrating, you must perform an additional step. Links in diagrams to Confluence pages contain the page ID of the page. Page names are not used since these break when a page is renamed. Migrating to a Confluence Server instance will change all of the page ID values, breaking these links.


Use the draw.io Page IDs Export tool

Save where each link in a diagram points to by exporting the Page IDs.


  1. Go to your Confluence Cloud administration, and select draw.io Configuration in the left panel, then select the Page IDs Export tab.
  2. Select Server as the Export target, then click Start Export.

  3. When the export has finished, you’ll see a mapping in the text field below. Select all of this text, copy and paste it into a text editor and save it.

Import the Page IDs into Confluence Server

Restore the link targets in your diagrams by importing the page IDs.


  1. As an administrator, click on the gear icon, then on General configuration.  Make sure Collaborative editing is turned off and re-indexing is performed before continuing.
  2. Under the draw.io add-on heading, select Configuration, then select the draw.io import tab.
  3. Copy the contents of that text file, then paste it into the large text field to Import draw.io data from another Confluence instance, then click Start import.



Important: Sometimes after import a space, users might experience discrepancies between content in the page viewer and the page editor. In this instance, restart the Synchrony service.

Go to General Configuration > Collaborative editing and select Restart Synchrony.