There are a number of ways that files can be stored and retrieved for use with draw.io. Some of these storage options are remote/online - that is to say, the information is stored on a remote server, and an online connection is needed to access them. These online storage options offer different features, depending on the host that is providing storage. Two online storage options are offered by draw.io: Google Drive and Dropbox.
The other type of storage option is local/offline - in other words, the information is stored locally on your computer. No online connection is needed to work on these files. Two local storage options are offered by draw.io: Device, and Browser.
The functionality of the various storage options is shown in the table below. Google Drive is the recommended storage option.
|Remote/Online Storage||Local/Offline Storage|
Save/save as - allows a file to be saved, either under its existing name and storage option (Save), or under a new name and storage option (Save as). The one storage option that does not offer this menu option, Google Drive, instead autosaves the file at the end of the session, so that is up to date the next time it is opened. Google Drive does however provide a Rename menu option; this is similar to Save as, but only allows a change in name, not storage option.
Autosave - this will cause the user's work to be automatically saved at regular intervals, or under certain conditions, reducing the chance of permanently losing work due to a computer or browser error. Autosave is only available for remote storage options (Google Drive and Dropbox), and is enabled by default. Note that autosave works differently depending on the selected storage option. For more details, see the relevant page for each storage option: Working with Google Drive files in the draw.io interface and Working with Dropbox files in the draw.io interface.
Version control is an alternate way of handling file storage. It allows multiple versions (revisions) of a file to be stored, each one a snapshot of the file at particular point in time. Any of these revisions can be retrieved and edited by the user.
Revision history - this menu option allows the user to view all stored revisions of a particular file.
Create revision - this menu option allows the user to create a new revision of a file. Only Google Drive provides this menu option, which can be used as an alternative to the absent Save option. It differs in one important respect; whereas Save causes the old version of a file to be overwritten, a new revision does not overwrite the previous one. Instead, all revisions are available to the user.